There is nothing really wrong with cochineal other than it not being suitable for vegetarians, and it's natural, so I don't really see the issue other than not labelling it. I went to Hungry Jacks the other day and noticed their Vegetarian burger contains Calf Rennet (but is labelled clearly as so).