frame
After the old forum software breaking in a way that we were unable to fix, we've migrated the site to a new platform.

Some elements aren't working as we'd hoped - some avatars didn't survive the transition, and we're still having issues with attachments that weren't added as inline images, but we're hoping to have that all sorted out soon.

Where do you buy and find your beans???

Hi All,
As a total newbie to coffee I mostly buy my beans from the supermarkets, or occasionally a Harvey Norman store, which I know you will probably all scream for me to be banned, but with so much variety out there how do I know what to try? Where do you guys choose your beans?

Comments

• Hi Droaks and welcome. Generally speaking supermarket beans are already stale, although we've heard good reports about beans sold at Harvey Norman. What you're looking for is a roast date, not a use-by date. The roast date should ideally be within the last seven days but no more than 20 days ago. Beans generally hit peak freshness about 7 - 14 days in, but you know what they say about generalisations: All generalisations are wrong. Even that one. If you've been using supermarket beans you'll see a definite improvement from using a reputable roaster. You can order online from our sponsors:  MyCuppa, Ministry Grounds and Bean Green - all of whom can be found in the sponsors section of this forum. A few of us are LOVING the 'Stable Treat' from Ministry Grounds at the moment.