frame
After the old forum software breaking in a way that we were unable to fix, we've migrated the site to a new platform.

Some elements aren't working as we'd hoped - some avatars didn't survive the transition, and we're still having issues with attachments that weren't added as inline images, but we're hoping to have that all sorted out soon.

0480 grinder settings

edited January 1970 in Grinders
Hi all, I am really new to all of this & I really need some direction with the settings on the sunbeam 0480 grinde for the 6910 machine!!!!!!!!!!!!
I am using house blends from both ALLPRESS & CAMPOS & I cant get it right with the beans that I am grinding at home but I seem to do OK with what I have had pre ground from the store???????????

I havnt had a decent coffee at home for the past two days & it getting to me

PLEASE HELP!!!!!!!!!!!!! >:( :(

Comments

• Hi LB, sorry but you really need to be a bit more specific.  What is your experience with coffee, are you genereally pretty confident with changing the grinder settings?  Are you using the presurised or non-pressurised baskets with the 6910?
  • Hi there Liquid Beans - PS is right, although as a general rule, beginners find they are not grinding the beans finely enough - does the water run through the basket pretty quickly? The grind should be fine enough that when you've packed the filter basketand switch on the extraction, it almost seems to struggle a little at first. This should then become a nice thick [honey-like] pour. dR
  • Hi LB I have the same set up at home got mine for $545 and got the grinder by redemption , I test a small quantity of beans in the grinder before I go and fill my airtight ceramic pot with fresh ground beans. Like DR said watch your pour and adjust from there if you've gone too fine you'll know it and can work on it till you find a setting that suits your taste. Don't forget to test and adjust when you change beans.